Gandhi's 11 Vows
October 2003

To mark the re-opening of the Gandhi Smriti Museum, Navtej Johar, artistic director, Studio Abhyas, created a minimalist dance composition for a film installation at Delhi's Gandhi Smriti Museum. It was based on the 11 vows of the Mahatma. In the year 1915, Mahatma Gandhi set up an ashram at Ahmedabad and laid down 11 vows which were mandatory for every ashram inmate and Satyagrahi to undertake in order for him or her to become a Man or Woman of Truth. Gandhi's 11 vows included Ahimsa (non-violence), Satya (truth), Asteya (non stealing), Brahmacharya (Self Discipline), Asangraha (Non-possession), Sharirshrama (bread labour), Aswada (Control of the Palate), Sarvatra Bhayavarjana (Fearlessness), Sarva Dharma Samantva (Equality of all religions), Swadeshi (Use locally made goods), and last but not the least, Sparshbhavana (Remove untouchability). These vows have been woven into a short dance-based film directed and edited by Kalpana Subramanium. It is part of the permanent collection of the Gandhi Smriti Museum, New Delhi.